Western Australia, Day 1 – Geraldton

29 May 2016

This was not my first visit to Australia, but it was my first time to Western Australia, and my first opportunity to visit the Australian site for the low-frequency telescope of the Square Kilometre Array (SKA). Travel the long distance from Europe to Perth (via Singapore), check into the hotel and then try to sleep it all off. The next day, a quick flight up WA’s Coral Coast to the small town of Geraldton, where the SKA’s operations centre will likely be based.

Not wanting to succumb to the jet-lag too soon, we decided to get out for a bite to eat and a stroll along the beach front. Of course, I took my camera with me.

Geraldton_003

Geraldton_008

There is an interesting art installation in the middle of the Geraldton Foreshore. It is a Yamaji Art exhibit of emu eggs – beautifully made and brightly coloured. As the web link informs us, these works of art were inspired from paintings by local artists and were “selected for their aesthetic, cultural and historical merits….as part of the  Ilgarijiri”. Personally, I love the fact that Ilgarijiri means “things belonging to the sky” and that the SKA and its Australian partners helped support and sponsor this work.

I liked Geraldton. The town did seem quiet and sleepy, but maybe that was because it was a Sunday. But that’s OK. That’s exactly how I like my town’s to be!

We continued along the Foreshore, saw some seagulls playing with the lapping waves of the Pacific, a Rubik’s-cube-styled public toilets, and a marina.

 

Leave a Reply

