nobody lives here anymore

Usually the problem with handheld HDR is getting an exposure that is long enough to get detail into the shadows without ruining the image with excessive camera shake. Yes, I know I should use a tripod, but at the moment in question I didn’t have one with me. So you do the best you can, and image stabilization on your lens certainly helps. However, I think I must have been so concerned about getting a good image of the shadows, that I forgot to consider what was happening to the highlights. And you can see the result here – blown out highlights.

I’d like to say “lesson learned” but who’s to say. What frustrates me is that I know this is not a mistake I would have made if I had used my tripod, as my workflow is quite set then – determine a good exposure on the highlights and work your way into the shadows 1-stop at a time. But when you’re handheld and the most I can program into the camera is 3 consecutive exposures (Nikon-envy here, with their 5 bracketed exposures…grrr!) then you will inevitably find difficulty in high contrast scenes. But in saying that, I have to say that I am impressed at how well I did manage to keep it still for those three exposures.

So, I’m experimenting with HDR again. Learning and using the excellent Nik Software HDR Efex Pro. I’ve tried the other major contenders, but for me, I just find the Nik product so much more intuitive and easy to work with. And because of that, I find myself trying to develop a new look for the images  – at least it’s new for me. I’ll put some more on over the next few days (assuming I find the time).

Hope you like it…

5 thoughts on “nobody lives here anymore”

  1. Blown highlight and all very nice shot. You could cheat if you have a good highlight exposure of course (or enough wiggle room in raw) and just mask back in (captain obvious I’m sure 🙂 ) but there really isn’t any need.

    Like

Leave a Reply

