monster leaf

monster-leaf.jpg

I took this picture this past weekend. It’s a close up of a leaf from a tree, and this tree had some monster leaves – huge. But I don’t know the name of the tree. I have to brush up on my botany as it’s a bit embarrassing that I should be posting a picture of something that I do not know the name of. It was close to midday and the light was quite harsh, and so I cropped in really close. I was attracted by the naturally regular patterns of the veins in the leaf, the contrast between the highlights and the shadows, and by the texture of the leaf itself. The leaf did not possess a shiny and taut surface but reminded me of old and wrinkly skin.

The post-processing was done with the black & white conversion in Nik Silver Efex Pro, followed by a bit of dodging and burning in lightroom.

2 thoughts on “monster leaf”

  1. Pingback: monster leaf

Leave a Reply

