honu at keauhou

honu1It seems to me that we are seeing more and more honu (Green Sea Turtles) in our waters – which is marvellous! We were at the Keauhou Beach Resort this past weekend which is famous for being situated next to one of the better places on the island for snorkelling. It is usually crowded with fish of all sizes and colours, and if you are lucky a honu make come up next to you to feast on the algea growing on the coral. I remember that 10 years ago you’d feel lucky to see one or two of these wonderful animals at any one time. This week, we saw up to 7 honu feeding within the same tide pool!

It has always amazed me how indifferent these creatures are to our presence. We sat on rocks by the tide pool and just watched them – we kept a good and respectful distance from the honu. However, in no time at all two of them had worked their way over to be quite close to me. As you can see from the picture below, one even blew a bubble at me!

honu2

2 thoughts on “honu at keauhou”

  1. I can’t remember now, but I was telling someone recently where to go to see the turtles. Was it you? It looks a bit like the place I recommended but can’t be sure. If it is it’s a wonderful place, isn’t it?

    Like

  2. Dunno, can’t remember. You told me about your whale watching spot. Did you also tell me about the spot next to the City of Refuge? That’s supposed to be an excellent snorkelling spot, if not the best in the islands… yes plural.

    Like

Leave a Reply

