The snow is back

The mountain is closed for the night and astronomers stranded at the Hale Pohaku Resort & Hotel for Stray Astronomers are huddling by the fire – well, the internet. There are various reports from Tom, Brad, Andrew and Damon provides some interesting video of the impact of the storms at sea level. For a lot of people this is very serious as the flooding the rains are bringing are causing significant damage to their properties.mkiceagereserveI don’t have any pictures from today, so here’s an image I took last year. The snow was so persistent that it reached all the way down to the 10,000-11,000 ft level. It was the first time that I had seen snow or ice down by the Ice Age Natural Area Reserve sign. There’s irony in that, somewhere.

2 thoughts on “The snow is back”

  1. The ultimate irony would be to take a photo of that sign with a bunch of T-shirt/shorts-wearing tourists/locals gathered around it with no snow in sight. I’ve been waiting for that picture for years!

    Like

  2. (technical note: For the life of me, I couldn’t get my comment to ‘submit’ on the appropriate post about your thematic-bi-polar discussion..I’m gonna try here.)

    I actually didn’t vote..’cause the pics just look..sexier, if you will, on the dark background..and the text looks much better here. I s’pose one could conduct a, “Which aspect of my blog more compels you to check it out: the photographs or the text?” (Then there’s the CSS tweaking of fonts-possibility..I inadvertently got different fonts to appear on my, http://islandnotes.wordpress.com/ by importing text from MS WORD..don’t know if that was some fluke..my theme ‘Ocean Mist’ looks pretty good for what I’m going for..however font’s such as this ‘Cutline’-theme just stick out nicely. (It’s probably not a coincidence that most newspapers have pretty much stuck with white background..I think the guy that went for a black background probably got into some other business, heh..)

    Like

Leave a Reply

